NOTICE:

DO NOT ATTEMPT TREATMENT WITHOUT LICENCED MEDICAL CONSULTATION AND SUPERVISION

This is a public discussion forum. The owners, staff, and users of this website are not engaged in rendering professional services to the individual reader. Do not use the content of this website as an alternative to personal examination and advice from licenced healthcare providers. Do not begin, delay, or discontinue treatments and/or exercises without licenced medical supervision.

hyoid bone position while swallowing and breathing.  

RSS
mateogon

I've been mewing for 6-7 months now. I can breathe easier while mewing now and I'm pretty sure I can lift the whole tongue.

When you swallow, the tongue initially rises and applies pressure to the palate, and then relaxes. The hyoid bone raises and lowers along with the tongue. One can conciously begin a swallow, and don't let the tongue relax, keeping the hyoid bone higher than usual, and the tongue applying force. The thing is I can't breathe while keeping this. As soon as as I breathe , the hyoid bone lowers a little bit, and the tongue lowers the force a bit. Is the final goal being able to breathe while in that position? Is it possible?

Posted : 31/08/2019 4:53 pm
sinned
Estimable Member

Don't try to hold the hyoid position during a swallow. When you swallow part of the reason the hyoid raises is to close the airway so that food doesn't get in there, so when you swallow you technically cannot breathe. It's impossible to hold this unless you want to suffocate.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 31/08/2019 8:09 pm
Pame
 Pame
Trusted Member
Posted by: @sinned

Don't try to hold the hyoid position during a swallow. When you swallow part of the reason the hyoid raises is to close the airway so that food doesn't get in there, so when you swallow you technically cannot breathe. It's impossible to hold this unless you want to suffocate.

What approach do you recommend taking to learn to raise the hyoid properly?

ReplyQuote