Forum

Please Note: The Users of this site are not engaged in rendering professional advice or services to the individual reader. The ideas, procedures, and suggestions contained within this work are not intended as a substitute for examination by your medical practitioner.

Cracking/Popping noise heard every time I swallow.  

RSS
Mewingworks123
(@mewingworks123)

I Have been mewing for several months and have seen positive changes to my facial form. 

When I swallow correctly, where I push my tongue up relatively hard into the roof of my mouth, I hear a crack each time around both ears. Wondering what this could be?

This topic was modified 5 days  ago by Mewingworks123
ReplyQuote
Posted : 11/10/2018 6:28 am
Sclera
(@sclera)
Trusted Member

Chances are you're releasing sutures or bones, like a chiropractic adjustment. I don't get it while swallowing, but I do get them sometimes when yawning, or stretching and then relaxing.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 11/10/2018 8:46 am
Progress
(@progress)
Member Moderator
Posted by: Sclera

Chances are you're releasing sutures or bones, like a chiropractic adjustment. I don't get it while swallowing, but I do get them sometimes when yawning, or stretching and then relaxing.

I used to think this too, but it's probably just the eustachian tubes moving:

Since there are no sutures near the ear canal:

ReplyQuote
Posted : 11/10/2018 9:00 am
Sclera
(@sclera)
Trusted Member

Oh fascinating! Do you think it's a sign of general improved function, or is there no correlation?

Also, I haven't experienced it myself, but I wonder if there's a way for the tongue to manipulate the sphenoid depending on where the wings are.

Reading up on Eustacian Tube Dysfunction...ringing some bells for a friend of mine.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 11/10/2018 9:16 am
Progress
(@progress)
Member Moderator