Share:

NOTICE:

DO NOT ATTEMPT TREATMENT WITHOUT LICENCED MEDICAL CONSULTATION AND SUPERVISION

This is a public discussion forum. The owners, staff, and users of this website are not engaged in rendering professional services to the individual reader. Do not use the content of this website as an alternative to personal examination and advice from licenced healthcare providers. Do not begin, delay, or discontinue treatments and/or exercises without licenced medical supervision.

AGGA Do’s and Don’ts - Optimizing Your Forward Growth  

RSS
bensimpson

This thread is to discuss things patients can do to get the most out of AGGA. I have a lot of experience with this device and I have some knowledge of its pros and cons. The following are reflections and questions from my ongoing experience - from discussions with dentists and assistants who have openly described the successes and drawbacks of this device. Apologies that this post resembles an earlier post in another thread. The following points are all intended to be open for debate and discussion.

Key outcomes of AGGA:

• Forward maxilla
  • Forward chin position
  • More square face (better gonial angle)
  • higher cheekbones
  • Possible negative side effects:
    • Reverse force of pushing maxilla in anterior direction is simultaneously pushing molar teeth back?
    • Natural regression of forward movement after removal of AGGA

Outcomes of Controlled Arch (following AGGA):

• Widen palate
  • Higher cheekbones
  • Possible negative side effects:
    • Reverse force of pulling molar teeth forward could be that the newly-moved front of jaw simultaneously recedes (in some cases almost all the way back to where it began)?
    • If there is regression of front of maxilla, then where is that new bone moving back to - and displacing other bone further back?

Do's and don'ts:

• Lower jaw position - my dentist says patients should push their lower jaw forward - in fact, more than feels comfortable at first.