Notifications
Clear all

NOTICE:

DO NOT ATTEMPT TREATMENT WITHOUT LICENCED MEDICAL CONSULTATION AND SUPERVISION

This is a public discussion forum. The owners, staff, and users of this website are not engaged in rendering professional services to the individual reader. Do not use the content of this website as an alternative to personal examination and advice from licenced healthcare providers. Do not begin, delay, or discontinue treatments and/or exercises without licenced medical supervision.

[Advice?] Cantedness, asymmetric cheekbones and midline discrepancies  

RSS
Azrael
Estimable Member

I have a 9-11 tooth smile (since I show more teeth on one side) and my IMW is 40mm.

On my left side (the side I chewed with my whole life):

1. ‌Upper dental arch is canted upwards more
  2. ‌Cheekbone is sunken and low
  3. Negatively Canthal tilted eye
  4. ‌Ramus is longer
  5. ‌Mandible is more developed

On my right side (the side I've been chewing with for the past 4 months):

1. Upper dental arch is neutral
  2. ‌Cheekbone is pronounced and high
  3. Neutrally Canthal tilted eye
  4. Ramus is shorter
  5. ‌Mandible is less developed

I have a midline discrepancy as well and after taking EddieMoney's advice, I've mewed (and chewed) by coinciding the midlines.

How do you think this approach will affect the above mentioned asymmetries on my palate and face? I'm interested in hearing your thoughts.

Here is a recent (1 year old) X-ray:

Edit - included the X-ray and mentioned the Canthal tilt differences.

Posted : 30/05/2020 9:00 am
Progress
Member Moderator
Posted by: @azrael

How do you think this approach will affect the above mentioned asymmetries on my palate and face? I'm interested in hearing your thoughts.