NOTICE:

DO NOT ATTEMPT TREATMENT WITHOUT LICENCED MEDICAL CONSULTATION AND SUPERVISION

This is a public discussion forum. The owners, staff, and users of this website are not engaged in rendering professional services to the individual reader. Do not use the content of this website as an alternative to personal examination and advice from licenced healthcare providers. Do not begin, delay, or discontinue treatments and/or exercises without licenced medical supervision.

How to fix my Maxillary Cant? 19M (Pics)  

RSS
FixingMyFace

Hi guys, this is my first time posting here so please let me know if I'm not doing anything correctly.

Short backstory: Had proper nose breathing as a kid, developed bad allergies at around age 14 and started mouth breathing. Fast forward 5 years at 19, my face has noticeably grown downwards and I have developed a canted maxilla. I found Mike Mew on YT and started mewing 3 months ago. Initially, mewing made my mouth and throat incredibly sore and dry. Now I mew all day and night without thinking about it.

All that said, I have attached 3 photos - my normal gummy/girly looking smile, a forceful smile that hopefully shows the cant better, and a side profile picture.

My bite has always been fine. I have all my 32 teeth. Bottom wisdom teeth are in, top ones are almost in. I have never had braces before. Functionally I am fine, but the asymmetry makes me extremely self-conscious in the work environment. Ideally, I would like to fix the canted plane as well as reducing the gummy smile. I think the gummy smile indicates I need a CCW maxilla rotation in a big way? I have read that a 2 jaw surgery can be used to fix this, and also seen articles about using TADs and 1 jaw surgery. If there was a way to fix this no surgically I would be thrilled, however, surgery is doable if it's the only way.

If anyone has recommendations for the procedure that would best improve my face, please let me know. Thank you.

Posted : 17/05/2019 10:56 am